My First MTB

 

20160613_103243-2

When I decided I wanted to have a go at mountain biking I needed something that could stand up to the abuse, I  rode a Giant XTC 24″ wheel bike for around 6 months it was a good bike only heavy and not the best suspension in the world but it got me out and about at Nant Yr Arian and Coed Y Brenin, so I saved up and had a little help to get a Whyte 604 compact in XS the spec is a little basic but it’s not a very expensive bike and comes with 650B wheels and 3×9 gearing ( which we changed to 3×10 speed )

We bought the bike from Stans cycles in Shrewsbury and very friendly and helpful shop, as I wanted the bike for mountain biking and not riding in the park they swapped the tyres for Nobby Nicks to give me some grip and away we went to get it dirty, the bike was a good starting place as it was xs and a more compact build so everything worked better for the smaller rider.

After a very short time we came to realise that the Suntour forks were very poor, in the wet conditions they would fill with water and go solid, we contacted Stans and they said they would do us some Suntour Raidon for cost which should be a lot better fork as they are air sprung and a lot lighter than the std ones, so the bike was taken back had its first free service and the new forks fitted, they looked good and worked a lot better, I rode the wheels off the bike for around 12 months doing every thing on it xc, trail centres and quite a bit of racing, the only problem we had been the BB went ( re placed under warranty at Stans and they fitted a Shimano XT instead ) and the new Suntour forks the coating on the stations wore off and started to scratch the surface quite bad, we took them apart several times to service the lower legs but they still wore, don’t think I would have another Suntour fork on one of my bikes, but overall it was a great first bike.

Bike Radar Review

 

Author: andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems.

Leave a Reply

