A Foggy Day At Antur

15894283_1828850184054057_5110773009974600395_n

Great day at Antur Stiniog with James and Richard weather was a little foggy, well a lot foggy to be honest, we got there by 9.30am and the up lifts started promptly at 10am, Richard and James were running late so I went up on my own and came down the blue while I was waiting, normally when I have ridden a blue route at a trail centre they are very easy, well they aren’t here quite a lot of rock and I also found it a little confusing as the tracks mingled into one and another in the fog, but down to the bottom and the others had turned up so it was straight back on the truck back to the top, this time we did a red route which is a bit harder again to the blue route more rock and bigger drops.

15894556_1828850314054044_5084494162284604861_n

After doing the red run it was time for what I had come to practise the Black Powder run which I will hopefully be racing on in the Borderline Events race series, this is a lot rougher than any trail centre black I have ever done, big rock drops, really rough rock sections and more rock, first run was a bit of a sighting lap to see what the run was like, it didn’t disappoint quite techie and rough, I did a few more runs and things were getting better but there was one section that kept playing on my mind and couldn’t get it quite right, so James stopped and showed me a few ideas on lines/what to try. The up lift at Antur is fantastic as soon as your down your loading up and on your way back up in minutes which was good so I could get my head around the one tough section I was struggling with.

20170108_152244

Dad isn’t the fastest on his bike and even slower with his mobile phone, he tried to take a pic of me talking to him out of the van window only he wasn’t quick enough ( better luck next time sucker)

I think I had around 20 runs in all and the last one was the best even if I was really tired, everything fell into place and I had a nice clean quick run, by now my whole body was aching so dad said it was time to go.

 

Author: andrewcartwright123

I'm a fly fishing Guide, guiding In all areas of south, mid and north Wales we cover all... areas, I'm also a registered and licensed fly and registered casting instructor so can help you out with any of you casting problems.

Leave a Reply

